Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-07-26 - 10.45am previous entry next entry

Yet more to report!

Thank you for all the congrats to Arthur for his crawling, and the comments on the video and photos! :) I am so proud of my lil Boo!

Yet again this is going to have to be as quick as I can make it, because Arthur is napping and who knows how long I might have! Probably only about 10 more minutes but we'll see. We are going to spend a few hours with Cameron's mum and his two little brothers at their house when Arthur wakes up. I haven't seen them since Arthur was all tiny and new when they came to visit, so it will be good to see them again. I find it so hard to visit their home though. Cam should be there at the window all excited to see me like he always was. But anyway, I will not get into that right now. I have to update on a few more things and I have hardly any time!

Hardly any time is a new thing now that Arthur is crawling! He is getting everywhere now! He follows me into the kitchen every single time I go in there - it's the cutest thing to go in to get a drink or something and then his cooing and toy-sounds stop out there in the living room, and there's a short pause, and then I can hear these little grunts and heavy breathing getting nearer and nearer, hehehe! It's so cute! Finally he reaches the kitchen floor and then I can HEAR him crawling because he's on a hard floor and his little hands go slap slap slap as he makes his way to me. Then his little face appears round the corner of the fridge-freezer, and he looks ultra cute pausing to peep round and see where I'm at! I love this lil boy :)

He is crawling so much now that his little knees are getting red :( Although yesterday and today it has been much cooler weather, so I have been able to put him in trousers to protect his knees some of the time. Right now he is wearing pyjamas. He looks such a big boy in pyjamas!

Okay I need to hurry up. Arthur went to sleep by himself just now! Well, almost. Yesterday I gave him his first "meal" type of thing for lunch - another Heinz simply organic jar, but this time I thought I would try him on something with meat and veg in it, like a proper meal, to see what he thought of the flavour. I got chicken, parsnip and carrot, and beef, parsnip and something-or-other. I opened the chicken one yesterday. It tasted really nice to me, but bland, obviously. Anyway Arthur really liked it! He actually opened his mouth for more!!!! So this has enabled me to start working on his next sign with him - "more". He loves it when I sign more. I think he finds it funny or something to see me banging my hands together like that, heh.

So I think he has taken a little more solids and a little less of my milk yesterday. I know this is how it's eventually meant to be, but I'm sad about it.

Ohhhh he's awake and I have soooo much more to write! I'll go and get him and see how much more I can get done...

Okay I'm back, and he's in the playnest ring thingy over there. But he hasn't been in that for ages and I am pretty sure he could be out of it in a second if he decided to! Hopefully he'll be distracted by the activities and colours and stuff for a few minutes!

Anyway I did not notice him taking any less breastmilk than normal yesterday, but I guess he must have because during one of his night feeds I noticed that my right breast was engorged! Yikes! So I fed him from that one only. But this morning when he woke at 6am it was engorged again! And it ached all morning, so I fed him from it just before his nap which felt a lot better, but it still aches. Now the other one is starting to ache for lack of being used! Should I not have stopped having things like engorgement by 8.5 months?!! So I have offered him the breast very frequently this morning just to take away my own discomfort, but he has been quite happy about that! The thing is, surely this will not leave him much room for any solids? Urgh. Do I have to pump? Or just go through the engorged thing and let my supply go down a little? I don't know. The volume of milk that Arthur is getting from me each day must be astounding! I think he must get close to 2 pints each day at the moment.

Anyway so I had nursed him full to bursting already this morning by the time his nap came around! So he wasn't hungry enough to take the breast and have it spout milk down his throat that he simply wasn't hungry for, poor thing! Which left us no option but to try something different. I lay next to him and put my hand on his back and shhed him till he fell asleep! Yay! It took a few minutes, that's all! I'm so pleased for him :)

Okay he is standing in that ring so I'm going to make his boundaries slightly safer before continuing!

Aw he is so pleased with himself :) Such a cutie! I have more milestones to report! Arthur kneels so well now, and he gets into that position very easily. He can now kneel against something, like his toy basket, and use both his arms to rummage around to find the toy he wants. Here he is yesterday morning, doing just that (of course the perferred toy was Monkey!)

It's so nice for him to have so much extra freedom to do things now!

Yesterday the health visitor came round for that follow-up appt I arranged about weaning. She said he is doing fine, but I should try him on lumpier foods now, and more finger foods, which is fine by me! She reassured me about the gagging and retching thing and said he will get used to it. Phew. He loves melon in his baby safe feeder now. I give it to him frozen to help his gums as he bites on it, but he eats it when it has thawed :) He also loves a nice lump of cheddar cheese (organic of course! :) ) and ate one nearly all up yesterday! He did his first cheese poo yesterday too. Urgh. You didn't need to know that, but it deserved a mention for the record! It was THAT bad! Eww.

He is climbing out of that ring. I need to rescue him, but I will be back!

Back again, but I can't be much longer! Poor Arthur! He is happily munching a bright coloured plastic thing for the moment. He's a very cheery boy these days, but then he always was a happy baby :)

Sooo the health visitor weighed Arthur and he has gained another lb since he was weighed 2.5 weeks ago!!! Yikes! He now weighs 22lbs 11oz!!! He is growing well :) He is still on the 80th percentile, thereabouts. She said he looks really tall, but didn't measure his length this time.

While she was here, he showed her his crawling skills, his two new teeth (many big smiles!) and then pulled himself to standing on the sofa and started CRUISING along it with little sidesteps!!!!!!!! Can this boy change any faster?!! I am starting to wish he would slow down a little, because I want to savour each stage and I sort of want him to stay my little baby for a while longer! But he's so clever :) I am so proud of him! He cruised a little bit again this morning, but he was quite shaky in his movements.

Bright plastic thingy has been discarded and Arthur was standing in the ring again, looking rather dangerously like he might fall over the edge (!) so he's now on my lap, which means this will get rapidly harder to understand and I'll have to finish v. quickly!

Okay but I just wanted to add that Arthur went from sitting to crawling yesterday morning, and has done it every single time I havemn msat h9im down (yes, he's helping now) since!!! He doesn't seem to find it difficult so maybe he just needed to get crawling before he could get on with moving out of a sitting position? anywya I am so glad bcausee it makes life easier for us both again.

Ojkay I'm sure there was more but we have to go now, or we'll be late for visiting Sharon and her boys! Back again soon! :)

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12