Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-06-09 - 2.15pm previous entry next entry

Clever Matthew! :)

Well, it's all go here! ;)

Matthew has been taking a few steps at a time lately, two or three at best (mostly more like one or two together). We encourage him to walk to us and sit a foot or so away on the floor while he holds onto the sofa. He LOVES this and gets so excited! He turns his body out from the sofa, leans towards us and, with a big grin on his face, attempts to walk to us. Lately he has not been even doing one step. He just stretches his arms RIGHT up in the air, tenses up completely, and topples forward onto us like a plank! Funny boy! He had stopped taking his few steps for a week or so, I think because he was working on a toothie - the one which appeared yesterday.

So, today I saw Matthew standing at the sofa, and sat down where I was (on the other side of the room) with the camera. I figured it would be GREAT to take a photo of Matthew standing facing out from the sofa, like he does. He stands still for a moment and smiles, and I thought that would be a great opportunity. I was MILES away from him compared with how close I normally sit, but never mind.

So I aimed the camera and started the usual encouragement, "Mathiiieeee! Can you walk to Mummyyy?!" :) His eyes lit up and he did exactly what I expected him to do, and I got my photograph just as he "set off". But he kept walking!!!! He walked right across the room to me!! I frantically snapped another blurry picture as he was halfway over, but I was mostly busy going, "NEIL! HE'S WALKING!!" and "Oh WOW, Mathsie, clever boy!" and similar stuff! I'm so amazed. I think it took him 6 or 7 steps to reach me, and each step was careful and non-wobbly. It looked SO surreal to see my tiny boy step-stepping across the floor to me like that! Like, it looked so weird - I couldn't think what was holding him upright, haha!

My WALKING BOY!! We'll see if he actually continues it and really does turn out to be a walking boy! He already did the same walk again, but I was sitting a bit closer and he did 4 steps over to me.

Anyway, that is all I have time to write today, but I thought I would post the pictures. And one of Matthew looking VERY pleased with himself! ;) I love that picture. They were all taken about 2 hours ago, today.

Thanks so much for the congrats over Neil's job thing, and the offers of help/advice re. the area we'll be moving to. We're moving a way further than the Surrey/Hants border. Will reply to emails soon, hopefully! :)

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12