Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-10-07 - 3.17pm previous entry next entry

bugbugbugbugbugbug

Well here it is. The reason I almost chose never to have kids. Arthur has his first tummy bug. Poor little love, he's only been out-and-about at playgroups for 2 weeks and he's had 2 colds (8 days apart!) and now a tummy bug just 4 days after the 2nd cold hit. He is still pretty full of cold but it's definitely on the way out.

He woke at 3.30am last night and started being sick in bed - sooooo glad he's still co-sleeping, as Neil was right there on hand immediately. I seemed to have an uncanny waking seconds before he woke so I went straight in. After he was cleaned up and the bed was changed he was very excitable and full of energy. He asked for milk so I nursed him for a couple of minutes - I didn't want to fill his tummy too much. He was sick again after another 20 minutes or so, and then again 10 minutes later. Urgh. After that he slept, but he woke up for the day whimpering and just not sounding comfy. He is soooo pale today. He doesn't have a temperature but Neil said he felt hot in the night. He has been doing really well at sipping water from his cup - more than usual in fact. I didn't let him have any milk first thing this morning because he brought it up the last time, and the water seemed to be staying down. He was sick again in the first hour or so after he got up, and then he had a long morning nap. He has just sat on the sofa looking pale and watching videos today, which is very unlike Arthur. Neil or I sit with him at all times (thank goodness it's the weekend!!). He keeps asking for dit-dit (biscuit) and munk (milk) and even asked for tea at one point, so he must be feeling empty or hungry when he's not feeling sick. After some more water stayed down I nursed him for literally 30 seconds, just about 10 seconds after my milk let down strongly. He was hugely sick about 15 mins later, at 12.30pm or so :( Now he's sleeping again (it's 3.15pm) and has been for a couple of hours.

I am obviously completely scared out of my wits. BUT I am so proud of myself that I haven't shown it to Arthur (I hope) so far, and I've been there patting his back and telling him "good boy, you're okay" every time he's throwing up. Which is a MAJOR big deal for me. It's the first time I have ever been able to look at someone while they're throwing up.

But. I am so gonna get this bug, aren't I? I mean, I haven't been sick since April 1994, so my immune system probably let its guard down thinking that there's no such thing as a tummy bug anymore! Urrrgh. Plus, I'm so run down at the moment. Although I did not get Cold #2.... but still. I guess it will kick in over the weekend sometime if it's going to. I have no idea, none none none, what to do. I mean, there's nothing I can do but pray and just ride it out, but. I just become completely irrationally convinced that I am DYING when I am being sick. It's not just that I hate it - anybody would! It's like, think of the scariest thing that ever happened to you and then double it. I hate this phobia. Twenty-eight years is toooo long to have a phobia, but I don't know how to get rid of it. Maybe having kids will kick it?

Arthur is waking, I had better go. Please pray! And for Matthew too - I am so nervous for my tiny boy that he'll get it. I have been keeping Matthew off the breast that Arthur has had today, but I have also washed very thoroughly when Arthur has finished nursing. But he's so tiny and he's sooo gunky with Cold #1 still. It just doesn't seem fair to such a tiny one, and I don't know how to look after him with something like this. I think I am going to phone Sue from church and get her to pray with me over the phone.

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12