Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-07-21 - 1.48pm previous entry next entry

Toothie photos! :)

Thanks Jemma and Megan for the guestbook messages! :) I will get a video clip of Arthur crawling soon, but today he is not really doing much on that front. He has done a little bit of half-hearted crawling to get to the cabinet (more banging of the doors!) but he did more flopping and lunging than crawling really.

He is kind of moany today. He seems to be having soooo much trouble with his teeth still. I don't know what is up with that. I felt his top gum with my finger and there's nothing going on up there as far as I can FEEL, so hmmm, I don't know why he still seems to be having so much teething pain. Bonjela and teething powders have done nothing for him today, and he is constantly gnawing his fist and whining when he does it. Could it be his new teeth still? Everyone keeps saying how he must be feeling so much better now they are through, but he's not. I haven't given him Calpol because I feel loathed to keep on posting it down his throat since it's paracetamol. Which, I know, is perfectly safe. But still. Should I be giving it to him anyway, as often as I think he needs it? If he's in pain then he needs pain relief, so I should give him some. I don't know.

Anyway, he had a nap this morning but when he was super fussy with his teeth I noticed he was rubbing his eyes a little, so I took him to bed and nursed him. He kept coming off the breast to gnaw his fist and cry, poor love, but in the end he fell asleep. He hasn't taken a morning AND a lunchtime nap for a while now, except actually he did this one day earlier this week too.

Today I just fed him his first Fruit Jumble yogurt! I chose the peach one. It was out of the fridge and he looked horrified when I put a little in his mouth, and he gagged on it a bit, so I let it warm up a bit to room temperature, and after that he seemed to really enjoy it. He mostly enjoyed licking and chewing the edge of the pot after it was finished! Not that he ate much of it really. He ate how much he normally eats when he has real food - about a heaped teaspoonful, not much at all. It's like he hasn't got any appetite for more than that, even though I thought he would be starting to increase his appetite for it by now. Maybe it's all the milk I keep feeding him?! Oh well. It's not important anyway, at this age.

Soooo now we will REALLY see what happens because he has had a real portion of dairy. So far, so good. I ate the rest of his yogurt, and it was yummy! :) I'm not surprised Stu likes them, Jemma!

Arthur has banged his head 3 times today :( Once nose-diving off the bed in the computer room (!!!), I caught him mid-air, but he banged his head on the side of the bed as he stopped when I caught him :( And cried. He had a red mark for a while, but he was fine when I cuddled him and nursed him. He banged it again on the same bed when he was looking at some books by the bed-end. Not a big bang though. Then he banged his head on the cabinet downstairs, but only lightly. He started crying as he looked at me but I said, "Poor Arthur! You're okay!" in a cheery voice and he stopped and carried on playing :) Yesterday he banged himself twice - once really quite hard on a toy on the floor, and he cried a lot :( And then we went shopping and he tried to put his mouth on the handle of the trolley he was riding in (yuck!) and nutted it with his chin, poor baby!

I guess we are reaching the age of bumps and bruises. He has quite a big bruise on the back of his left calf. I can't remember where he got it, and it doesn't seem to bother him, but I THINK it might have been when he was swinging his legs against the side of the chair when he was sitting on my lap at the computer the other day. I am dreading when he has accidents learning to pull-up and walk. I know it has to happen and it's fine for him to learn and make mistakes, but I know it's going to be so heart-breaking so see him get hurt. At least I have the wonderful privilege of being "Mummy" in all these situations, and being the one he will turn to for comfort. I will have the magic touch to kiss it better and cuddle his tears away, and I also have the joy of being able to nurse him if he's upset which is a great soother. I am so blessed!!! So it will be okay. But I am not looking forward to my little man getting hurt and bumped and things.

Okay this is just a short entry (for me!) because Arthur may wake soonish and I want to get my lunch going. Also I just wanted to update to post some toothie photos, which I finally managed to take this morning! His teeth are looking wider and bigger to me this morning, as at first it was just the outer corners that came through. Now most of the "flat" of the teeth have come through to the surface, so the whole tooth looks soooooo big to me now! My big boy! :) Here are 3 photos. The second one is the best for seeing his teeth - he was roaring at me so it was a great view and he wasn't moving so it wasn't blurry! I was roaring at him to try and encourage him to do the same for a good view of his teeth, and he roared back! The third photo is just cute :) See in the first one, how his eyes are still like half brown, half grey? They are just part brown and part grey, not mixed or anything. I wonder what they will do eventually!

Anyway, here are the photos - I will update again soon :)

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12