Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-08-07 - 2.11pm previous entry next entry

Picnic photos and party excitement!

Aaaaaaargh, one hour till we leave for Jaya's birthday party/naming ceremony, and I'm in a huge flap of what-shall-I-wear?!! I hope Jemma is doing okay today. I know she had a cold a couple of days ago, bleurgh, and about 50 million things to get done before today! The invite said "stylish attire" and I am not remotely stylish! But I'll see what I can dig up to make myself vaguely presentable! But more to the point, what will Arthur wear?! Neil is out buying wrapping paper (I can't believe I forgot that!) and I just nursed Arthur to sleep. He napped an hour and a half this morning which is great! We had a bad bad bad night last night. My restless legs were ridiculously restless, and I couldn't sleep till 1.45am and then Arthur woke at 2am to nurse, and I couldn't sleep till after 3am and then he woke again at 4am. And 5.30am. Yeurgh. Wonderful Neil got up with him at 6.30 and I nursed Arthur at 8ish, and then zonked out till my boys woke me at 11!!! Yay! So I caught up on my sleep a little, but we didn't go to church. Oh well. Probably for the best, with a busy busy afternoon ahead!

I am so nervous/excited about the party! I get nervous about meeting people, even ones that I know and love from afar, and I am especially nervous about a large gathering of people who know each other but who I don't know at all. Glad I will have my boys with me and Jemma and Jaya and Stu! I will personally kick my own butt if I manage to forget my camera - I will be so peeved! So I fully intend to take the camera and snap lots of photos! I'm sure Jemma will have loads of photos to post in her diary of the day, but I will post some too (hope she doesn't mind!).

We did get a lot done on the bedroom yesterday! A lot of stuff went in the loft, and I sorted the books from the underbed drawers and stuff. We moved the wardrobe of Arthur's clothes into the spare room, and took our big bed apart. And the cot is finally in pieces in the loft. I want to dance a lil jig about that one, heh. ;) So now we have a temporary arrangement in the bedroom whereby the kingsize mattress is on the floor at last (yay!) and we've surrounded it with soft pillows incase Arthur rolls off. He has already climbed off it several times today and come to no harm even when he has gone head first or lost his balance! I'm so relieved to have the bed on the floor at last. We now need to swap the mattress with the triple wardrobe and tidy the clutter and stuff on the floor. And buy and install a stairgate. And hoover the floor. I am going to put new curtains in too - the ones I got from eBay but never finished taking the hems up.

The bed looks soooo much bigger on the floor without the frame, and Arthur looks soooo tiny all curled up on his side fast asleep on there in the evening! He's so lovely.

Okay if I am going to post a load of photos from today in my next entry (I hope!), I had better get caught up with the ones I STILL haven't posted from earlier in the week!

Arthur is now so wriggly in the bath that it's hard to bath him (even for Neil who is IN the bath with him!). When he lifts him out at the end of bathtime, I sit on the (closed!) toilet with a towel open on my lap, and Neil passes a very wriggly and dripping Arthur onto my lap. I wrap him in the towel and cuddle him dry while Neil gets out of the bath. Then we all go to the bedroom and put our little precious to bed together. I love our bedtime routine for him! Anyway, these days he will not sit still on my lap after the bath. He immediately twists his body and reaches out for the loo roll, and starts shredding it with his damp hands (and then trying to eat the shreds!). So lately I have been wrapping him in a close swaddle with the towel, and he goes all still and calm, it's lovely! Here is a photo of Arthur and I after his bath one day last week :)

On Tuesday we went to the park for a picnic with a few mothers and toddlers from the group we went to once before it finished for the summer. It was so nice! The weather was great and I got to get to know the other mums a bit better. Their little girls are 17 months old so a bit of a gap, but it was great fun. Of course I took photos! Here is the picnic, with Arthur in the foreground wondering what I'm up to!

The two ladies who ran the group were there and they just LOVE Arthur, so he got lots of cuddles and kisses and attention! One of them was taking a nice rest after we ate, and Arthur kept crawling to her and pulling himself up on her back! He does this to me ALL the time in bed now. Here he is giving a professional back massage to Barbara, hehe! She said it was nice to have some physio on her day off! ;)

Here we both are at the picnic:

Arthur had a lovely time, but he got sooooo tired out by the end, and he was asleep literally seconds after I started the car to leave the park! Here he is about 5 minutes after we arrived home:

Okay I have run out of time - Neil is home and showering and Arthur is awake and climbing out of the ring I just tried to put him in! So I have to go. Will write all about the party and post the other photos I still have to show you as soon as I can! :)

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12