Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-06-12 - 2.53am previous entry next entry

Night googling and scared

2.53am and I'm up googling things like "baby cold vomiting", and "baby cold bloodstained mucus". Urgh. Things are not going well. Please can someone help? Should I be worried?

Arthur slept well all evening, and when he woke around 10.30 I nursed him till he went back to sleep. He slept again after about 5 minutes or so, which I guess gave him an okay feed. My breasts are engorged for the first time in ages so I know he is not eating like he normally would. Plus the vomiting. He did not pee for 6 hours this afternoon, but when we took his dry nappy off to put him in a night nappy at bedtime, he peed on the bed :) Strong smelling pee though. I know he must be getting dehydrated. I feel scared.

Anyway it's good that he nursed back to sleep like that, but my breast was still very full afterwards, though less engorged, so he didn't have a whole breastful. And three hours later when he woke again, it was engorged again. This time we changed his nappy, and Neil says it was wet but I don't know how wet. Then he was pretty awake. I nursed him in bed and my darn milk just came too fast for him. I took him off several times to let the flow slow down, but it just wouldn't slow. It is starting to frustrate me so much. He took a pretty huge feed and seemed hungry, and then came off the breast and immediately (I didn't even have time to move away) vomited everything back up, quite violently. I picked him up and he just kept throwing up. He must have brought up the whole lot. The amount was excessive and it seems to be more so all the time.

So after we calmed him down Neil changed the sheets again and I brought Arthur in here to google things. I am scared and worried about him. Why is he being sick like this? Why can't he keep anything down? Nothing I am finding on colds online says anything about vomiting like Arthur is. He isn't coughing to make him vomit, and it is getting worse. He is now returning almost all of every single feed, whereas a couple of days ago when it started, he only did it once in a day after a bout of coughing. I don't understand what is going on with him.

Also his snot is very bloodstained, and that freaks me out. It was this morning, and now it is again. Neil has bloody snot all over his t-shirt. Arthur is just miserable. I took his temperature again, this time with the normal thermometer that goes under the arm, and it was 37.3. I am so mad with that stupid ear thermometer. I have been checking him so carefully with it when he felt warm to me, in case he had a fever, and it always showed me normal temperatures so I didn't think anything more of it. Right after I took his temperature under the arm, I tried using the ear thermometer and it said 35.6. Crappy thing. Obviously we don't know how to use it, or else it is just crap and inaccurate. Either way we need to throw it away and go with the good old fashioned one. When Neil was holding Arthur trying to soothe his whimpery sounds and help him fall asleep (maybe 30 minutes later), I took his temperature again and it was 37.4.

He is much less snotty in general this evening, though after he had been crying it seemed to be back full force, with blood in it. When we changed his nappy before I nursed him, he seemed absolutely back to his old self, chatting happily and wriggling everywhere while we tried to change him, bouncing on his hands and knees on his front, etc.

I am finding myself scared to nurse him in case I am making him sick. Why can't my milk be more gentle for him? Neil said I should pump some out first, but to be honest it just lets down so fast throughout the feed when my breasts are this full. Arthur gulps hungrily and I can't stop him getting a ton of milk too fast.

He is waking and crying, so I'm going. We will call a doctor tomorrow. I'll let you know how we get on. Please please pray for Arthur.

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12