Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-04-19 - 12.45am previous entry next entry

Cold day at the park!

I have things to write about, but absolutely no time tonight! I just wanted to post these photos from our first family outing since Nathan was born! Well, we did have a family outing or two already � we went to Jove�s birthday party, in early March, and we went to my grandparents� house shortly after that. And we�ve been going to church. But we haven�t been out anywhere, just US. The boys and Neil usually go to the park to burn off energy every morning. But the week before last, Neil decided to take the boys over lunch time instead, to have a picnic. We had had the first vaguely spring-like weather, so we were hopeful! I decided it would be great for the boys if Nathan and I came too! So we all went to the park together in our big 7-seater MPV! :)

Sadly, it was COLD and windy, and threatened to rain from almost the moment we arrived there. The boys had a great time nonetheless, and were completely used to the cold outdoors. Nathan and I, however, were not! Nathan HATED the outing!! Reeeally hated it. He cried and screamed most of the time, and when we finally sat down to eat, it was time for me to breastfeed him so I attempted it. The poor little boy couldn�t take his lunch, because every time the wind blew, no matter which way I tried to position us (it blew from every direction, brrr!) he would do these huge gasps as the wind blew on his face while he tried to feed, and eventually got MIGHTY cross and de-latched to scream and scream about it, while milk spurted down my front/legs/baby boy. Milk, which instantly went freeeezy-cold the moment it was on my bare tummy in that cold cold wind! Brrrrr! I had to take his coat off to feed him as it was too bulky (poor boy!) and then Neil suggested that he take a photo to mark the occasion of our first outing as a little family unit! Hmmm!

So, he got four great photos of me with the boys on the picnic mat. They are NOT great photos! But they are great for my memory Treasure Chest :) Because the perfect picture did not happen, but instead we got these four pictures of me being tired and windswept with a crying baby, a 3-year-old focused on eating rather than the camera, and a monkey toddler intent on escaping the scene! Picture #3 particularly cracks me up, hehe! I feel like I want to use that one as my main diary photo at the top � �Arthur�s Mummy� haha! This is my life now, and it is this frazzled all the time, and I really need to be an octopus (with 3 breasts and lungs for air, obviously) to have enough arms to deal with my little men. But I LOVE it all the same!

It was soooo cold and windy! Matthew ran into some mud right after those photos were taken (a LOT of mud) and we were pretty much ready to pack up and go home. I bundled Nathan up and put him in the tandem pushchair (he�s big enough for it at last, and doesn�t need to recline fully (though it�s better if he does), and he doesn�t appear to need the newborn head supports any more either! Yay!), and he was happier there. Still cold and gaspy with the wind, but not crying any more!

The boys walked and ran and climbed, and Nathan fell asleep in the pushchair as we walked, so it turned into a nice outing after all, if a little COLD!

The boys found a hollow tree stump on the way back to the car :)

We�ll do it again! I just hope the weather warms up SOON! It was still freezing cold and windy today, although we�ve had the odd sunny patch where you can tell the sun is warmer than it used to be. Now if only the cold wind would go away! I can�t wait for spriiiiing! :)

It is hours later than when I started this entry now, as Nathan woke twice, and it�s the middle of the night after nursing him now, so I�ll just post this before shutting down the laptop. Okay, make that THREE times now. Something is up with that boy today (and yesterday, for that matter) but I can�t figure out what (it�s not the immunisations because they didn�t happen � more on that in my pregnancy journal next time I update there!). Anyway. I�m going to bed! But not before I post this one last thing � Nathan now fits all his 3-6 month clothes pretty well! His adjusted age is 2 months old, so he�s doing great! I found the �onesie� that Lisa sent me for Matthew, amongst other things � the baseball one that I LOVE! So I put Nathan in it, and took his photo. I just wanted to post a photo of him in it, and the comparison photo of Matthew in the same outfit! I just wish I had one of Arthur in it, but never mind!

Here�s Matthew at 7 weeks old, wearing this sweet little onesie (I forgot how dark his newborn hair was, now that he�s so fair!):

And Nathan, at 13 weeks � adjusted age would be 8 weeks, so pretty much where Matthew was in age:

They�re quite similar, aren�t they? But plenty different enough as well. It was one of my favourite photos of Matthew. I wish I had got Nathan to smile and relax a bit more for his one, but never mind! Anyway, I am going to bed! Will write again soon, as I have a ton more photos, and also a couple of little video clips (if I ever get them uploaded!). Thanks so much for the lovely comments on my last entry! :)

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12