Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-05-04 - 4.17pm previous entry next entry

Bran loaf. And other waffle.

Here I am again at this strange diary! I need to write here more, then it won't be so strange anymore. This is a continuation of my pregnancy journal and my general journal from before that. I like how one diary is getting both of those things combined. It is oddly relieving to feel that I can now waffle about absolutely nothing like I used to, and not be all interesting and stick to baby-related stuff! ;) Also that same feeling is kind of.... weird. I haven't let myself ramble on about sweet nothings for a long time. I do miss it though. I love a good waffle.

So what's new? Five days till Arthur is six months old and I change to this diary for all my Diarylanding. He is napping right now. Man it has been a big fight to get him to nap the whole day! He took a very broken hour this morning and it took TWO hours to get him to nap this afternoon (trust me, he was tired enough and showing me all his "I want to be ASLEEP!" signs), and then the first 40 minutes he woke five times, and now he has been sleeping an hour and a half. Phew. He may wake while I'm doing this though, so I'll just carry on as long as I can.

I am baking bran loaf at the moment. I haven't baked anything in about fifty million years, but BRAN loaf?!! Whatever possessed me?! I hate bran. My bowel hates bran. But a lady at the mother's fellowship group on Thursday was handing out slices of her homebaked bran loaf as Arthur and I arrived, and I couldn't exactly say, "Yuck! No thanks!", so I took one. It was... nice! Wow. So she was really pleased and wrote out the recipe for me on the spot, AND handed me a food bag containing a cup of bran! So now I have a cup of bran, and I got tired of staring at it lying sadly in its food bag on the counter. So now it is mixed with milk, sugar, raisins and flour and is baking in a loaf tin in the oven. I hope it turns out okay. I miss baking. It is so easy, but I just always feel like it's going to be a huge chore so I never get round to it.

I phoned Buckingham Palace this morning! Did you know that there is some sort of hoax message that people keep being left that tells them to ring a certain number, and it's Buckingham Palace? That's what it said on the message when I got through. But I was a legitimate caller! :) My grandparents celebrate their diamond (60th) wedding anniversary on May 12th - they were married in 1945, wow! If you are celebrating your 60th, 70th or subsequent wedding anniversary, or celebrating your 100th, 105th or subsequent birthday, a member of your family can apply to Buckingham Palace to have the Queen send you a congratulatory card. It used to be a telegram. But anyway. So my grandparents are obviously gagging for a card from the Queen! They phoned me a couple of weeks ago, politely begging me to apply on their behalf, hehe. So I have. And today the confirmation came in the post, completely getting their surname wrong (they used Grandoug's middle name instead of the surname - tsk), and omitting the fact that he is Dr. and not Mr. Which I know he would be miffed about. So I phoned the Palace to correct them.

Weird thing about that. I obviously have a oh-bum-the-word-I-want-just-left-my-brain mindset about the staff at Buckingham Palace. I just what-is-that-buggery-word?!-ly assumed that they would talk posh. But a lady picked up the phone (it wasn't HRH) and said, "Baackingum Palis?" like it was someone idly barking, "Castumur Survisiz!" at Tesco. Oooh that's what's-that-darn-word?! of me as well, isn't it.

Anyway I sorted it out. My grandparents will be very pleased :) We are all going to stay with my parents in their home in France from Friday 13th to Monday 16th May to celebrate. By "we all", I mean the grandparents (obviously), me, Neil and Arthur, and my brother and his lovely fiancee Sarah. That's all my family. I am looking forward to it.

Arthur's awake. Back another time!

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12