Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-05-15 - 2.57pm previous entry next entry

Auntie Meeee!!! :)

It's a GIRL!!! :)

Baby Thea Lucy arrived just before 2am this morning! Neil woke me at 7.50am to tell me that Bennie was on the phone, and I was soooooo excited - it took me way too long to get myself to the phone, even though it was all of like 5 seconds, hehe! I love that she's a girl (now I don't have to eat my hat!) and I LOVE her name! I don't know any little ones called Thea at the moment. Of course, it now means that my parents have all three of their grandchildren with "th" in their names, and they live in France, haha! All their friends were mocking enough about "zat seelly Eeengleesh sound!" when I had Arthur, and then even more so with Matthew. Now Bennie has a Thea, haha! ;) They can't pronounce it at all. My parents are quite amused! ;)

My instincts were right about yesterday. They did go to their appointment at the hospital, but thankfully nothing was wrong with the baby or the placenta. Sarah's cervix was softer, but that's about it. But her blood pressure was up a bit, and the previous time they had worried a little about it. The doctor just said, "41 weeks, raised blood pressure. Induce today!" They were really upset, but Bennie said they talked to some really lovely doctors and then some equally lovely midwives who made them feel better about it, and they decided to go up and have the gel stuff done.

Sarah had that at around 5pm, and then they waited on the delivery suite. She hadn't had even a mild contraction yet, or any crampiness or achiness at all her whole pregnancy!

She laboured while I wrote my diary entry and rocked Matthew and prayed. I could NOT stop praying yesterday evening. While I rocked Matthew, I just kept on praying that her cervix would progress fast and that the baby would be okay, and that it wouldn't be long and drawn out, though I felt anxious that it WOULD be. But - is God faithful or WHAT?! - she had her first contraction between 10 and 11pm somewhere, and they wouldn't let her off the monitor so she had to be in bed on her back. After a while it got difficult to deal with the contractions like that, so Bennie persuaded the doctors to let her have a break from the machine. They gave them an hour in peace, (lots of squatting!) and when they came back she was 8cm!!!! Thank you God! :) It was about 3 hours from first contraction to birth! FIRST BABY!! I'm amazed. But I shouldn't be, because God is so faithful when I pray. I love him!

So the baby is fine and dandy. She weighed 7lbs 14oz (pretty good!) and has dark curly hair. Sarah is fine but she had stitches and is in pain from those. They had no sleep. They just marvelled at their new little person all night long! She didn't sleep at all either, which is unusual for a new tiny one! Bennie left them at 7.30am and she STILL hadn't slept yet! She is breastfeeding really well.

I'm just sooooooooooooooooo thrilled, and randomly tearful about it all! Every time I think of her name I just tear up. I'm so pleased she's here! They aren't sad not to have had a homebirth at all, because they weren't striving for one at all costs in the first place. It just would have been nice if it worked out. Hopefully the hospital will let them out sometime today. Sarah is really eager to come home today as the postnatal ward is pretty dire. I did a 2 week placement there in 1999 and it was NO fun. The delivery suite was, but the postnatal ward is not nice at all! I can understand her wanting to be out of there!

Anyway, yay! I can't think what else I wanted to say, and must be quick here as the boys are both napping and I have to rush up if Matthew wakes first, so that he doesn't cry and wake Arthur. He is rather anxious if I'm not there straight away at the moment, and cries a lot (like the world is ending, poor love!) so I am being pretty quick on my feet these days! I just wanted to update about Thea NOW, because I will be rather busy sewing 50 thousand pink girlie nappies this evening, hehe! I have my fabrics all laid out on the floor, and I'm so excited to sew girlie stuff for once! :) Yay!

I don't know when we'll see Thea. I think the new grandparents are visiting first and then my grandparents. I told Bennie we'd let the rush die down before we descend on them with two noisy tiny people! Arthur has been talking about "Fee-yah" all day! He wanted to draw her a picture, and he's done a lovely one with crayons, and stuck happy smiley stickers all over it. He keeps wanting to see it, and tells me, "I think Fee-yah is going to LOVE this!" :) And he keeps asking, "Is baby Fee-yah coming to see us now?" I have to keep explaining why she can't yet! We have to go to them, but only when it's time. I can't wait to see her!!! And hug Sarah and tell her WELL DONE! She used my TENS machine for her whole labour and found it a great help, and that makes me happy! :)

Okay, that is all!

There's a normal entry before this one, if you haven't already seen it, from the wee small hours of this morning (!!) - extremely long and photo heavy, be warned! ;)

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12