Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-01-17 - 9:53 p.m. previous entry next entry

My tiniest boy has arrived!

Just a quick entry (really!) to make note in this diary of our big news (links to more detailed diary entries included)!

Nathan arrived a month early! My waters broke on Friday (Jan 11th), and I was induced the same afternoon because I'm GBS positive and needed antibiotics once my waters broke.

Nathan Martin was born at 5.42am on Saturday January 12th. I wrote about that part in this entry. He was born a month before his due date (he was due Feb 10th) at 35 weeks and 6 days gestation. He weighed 5lbs 13oz, and was 19 inches long, which was pretty good for his gestation! I think he would have been my heaviest baby yet, had he gone to term.

He had no breathing problems, no blood sugar problems, and was able to stay with me for the few days we were in hospital. He didn't maintain his body temperature too well in the first 24 hours, but he was fine after that. I had to supplement him with small amounts of formula in the hospital to keep his blood sugar levels steady. My milk came in during the evening on Day 3, after we arrived home from hospital, so he isn't getting formula top ups any more. He is nursing plenty, and Matthew too. I love tandem nursing! Arthur decided my new milky tasted yucky and disgusting (!), and wouldn't nurse any more. He seemed quite unhappy about it, as though he really WANTED to keep nursing but didn't like the taste. He seemed to be the one dealing LEAST well with having a new baby brother. Matthew is eager and excited, and VERY sweet and gentle with Nathan. He calls him "dee-dee" (baby) and strokes his hair sooooo softly, saying, "Deh-doh" (gentle). He wants to see Nathan every single opportunity he gets.

Yesterday evening Arthur asked for milky at bedtime. I asked if he was sure, and he said yes. When it was in full flow, he seemed not-so-happy about being on the breast drinking it, but he continued anyway. After he finished, I asked him how he felt about Mummy's milky tonight. He said it was yummy again and that he wanted to have milky all the time again now :) He has nursed quite a few times today, and as usual at bedtime, with no problems. He declares that it's yummy every time. I think we're back on with the tandem (triandum?!) nursing, and I'm happy about that. I think it will help Arthur to bond with Nathan. Already today, when Matthew was napping, I was nursing Nathan and Arthur together, and Arthur was acting WAY more calm around him (he's been a bit boisterous and aggressive and fidgetty around Nathan thus far) and gently playing with Nathan's fingers while they nursed. So that is good!

I wrote another diary entry from the hospital before we left, and then a big entry with the first photos of Nathan. I will keep updating about my tiniest boy at my pregnancy journal, like I usually do, until he's 6 weeks old. Then I will (sadly, as always!) close things down there till next time (ohhh I hope there will be one!), and continue to update about ALL my boys here! This diary sometimes gets a bit neglected while I'm writing about a new tiny person (and his brothers) at my pregnancy diary, so do check there as I write a lot of stuff there that really ought to belong here, during that time! I have a lot more photos to post there soon, but haven't finished uploading and resizing yet. We are not getting a lot of sleep at the moment. I need to write about that there, too.

But I have THREE sons! I have ALL my boys! I am sooooo blessed! I love each of them so very much, and I can't believe this is my life, and they are MY children! I am just in awe. Thank you Lord, for the safe arrival of another precious baby boy, and for blessing me with each of my children. Please help me to be the best mother I can be to them, and to parent them lovingly and sensitively. Help me to meet each of their needs and learn to juggle caring for three. Keep me from hormonal issues in the next few months, and equip me for everything that will be demanded of me! Help me lean on you above all. I need you more than ever. I love you Lord! I just want to praise you for your faithfulness to me, and your loving kindness. You are all I could ever need. Amen.

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12