Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-12-18 - 12.26am previous entry next entry

Mr. M. Binks...

No, Binks is not our surname! "Matthew-Binks!" is what somehow pops out of my mouth when Mathie is being a monkey, which is how he is a LOT these days! He's just pure mischief sometimes, but cheeky fun mischief more than anything else :) He's such a sweetie pie! I haven't had chance to resize the photos I meant to get up here, but I have two photos of Matthew, in a particularly "binksie" light! ;) These are two faces that I see a lot. One is just boyish total mischief. And the other one is when I know he's about to do something monkeyish, or even that he's thinking about it, and I might say to him, "Matthew-Binks?! What are you up to?!" and he gives me this look:

I love it because he's being a sweetie with total mischief around the corner at any second. Which is Matthew all over! And I love the little sort of pursed smile he gives me ONLY on the occasions where he is thinking of doing something cheeky, and he knows I know it! I love him soooo.

Here's his other frequently-worn expression at the moment:

Just monkeyness! He was playing a game where he shut the door, waited for us to wonder where he was, and BURST into the room beaming at his own clever joke! Arthur used to love that game too - I think I have a picture of him playing it behind Nana and Grandy's floor-length curtains in France, but he was younger than Matthew then - almost 14 months. I'll see if I can find it....

Here it is!!

I can't believe how much I've forgotten! He was such a chunky little cutie! SUCH a different shape to Matthew, oh my goodness! And how scarily grown up Matthew's photo suddenly looks against tiny monkey Arthur Boo! Matthew has lately become a real little boy in many ways, and he really isn't looking so much like a baby anymore. Neil keeps on mentioning it to me, and I'm seeing it more too. I'm excited to see him grow up! But really sad and wistful to pack his babyhood into a treasure box in my memory banks. I just cherish each moment with that tiny binksie boy! I love him so much. Same goes for Arthur of course, but I'm just writing about Matthew for now :)

Okay, it's late again. Arthur and I made sugar cookies today - 40 of them in the shape of Christmas trees! They are our Christmas present for my grandparents and my parents - my grandparents are setting off for France tomorrow to spend Christmas with my parents, so we baked them today and will drop them off tomorrow before they leave. I'm bummed that we ran out of time for Arthur to help me decorate them, as he would have loved that bit (and my family would have loved the results too!), but it got to bedtime, and anyway we have another SEVEN DOZEN to bake for the rest of the family on Boxing Day! He'll have plenty of chance to decorate some then. I decorated them this evening, and also made chocolate-covered marzipan sweets with little sugar flowers on top! That was a bit ambitious of me, but they turned out fine I think. My family love marzipan :)

Anyway, it's late and I STILL haven't finished the Christmas cards!!! Tomorrow morning I have an antenatal appointment, so I am going to bed for now. I just wanted to post some pictures, and to write about LOVING my Mathsie-Boo-Bean! And also, thank you for the lovely supportive comments about our homeschooling plans! I kind of opened my comments with baited breath and one eye closed, you know?! ;) But everyone was lovely! Thank you!! xxx

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12