Email me

Leave me a note

|

My profile

My main diary

My pregnancy diary

Older entries

Arthur's Video Clips

Diaryrings

Favourite Links

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-10-24 - 11.49pm previous entry next entry

Steps and slacking!

I can't believe it has been NINE days since I updated last!!! Urrrgh, I have been longing to update, I have so many thoughts that need writing down, and sooooo much to write about my little man and how I am feeling about life with him lately! I just feel too sick or tired to update. I just want to say that I have not even been able to read favourite diaries, let alone leave messages or return emails. I'm so sorry! I miss my diaryland buddies soooooo much! But I get so little time where I feel able to be online. I use it to check my due date buddy group, my email and messages in case of uplifting pick-me-ups (!!) and if I get chance, to write my diaries. I honestly cannot WAIT to be feeling up to my usual online activity again! I just have no time, or if I do then I don't feel good. It will pass though, and then I'll be back to normal here :)

Okay I have soooo little time as it's 11pm and I needed to be in bed like three hours ago!

I haven't taken photos of Arthur in way too long!! I finally took a couple yesterday. The house is in SUCH a state, and we have been trying to make a dent in the mess over the weekend. Of course, Arthur LOVES any sort of mess, and he particularly loves it when messes get tidied! He loves to help! Here he is helping his Daddy with the Great Laundry Crisis - he just loves "sorting" and "folding" clothes:

Basically, he has watched me sort the clean laundry a million times, and he loves to pick up an armful of clothes, swing to one side and drop them in a new pile, then pull a few of them and twist them about in a business-like manner (!!), and then add a couple more things to that same pile in the same way, before starting to transfer the items to a "new pile" all over again, hehe! He is so cute. He has such a serious expression of concentration on his face while he does it! It will keep him busy for such a long time, he just loves sorting the laundry! He likes to pull down my piles of neatly folded stuff too, which isn't quite so helpful! He also likes to chew the odd item!

I wish I had been updating lately. Arthur is taking his first steps at the moment! I am so excited for him! He spends much of his time excitedly standing and balancing without holding onto anything. He can stand for ages and ages now, but he really only does it for show, so once the excitement wanes, he takes hold of something again so he can be on the move again! This boy rarely stays still! He is always crawling or cruising somewhere. He's so active, it makes me tired to watch him sometimes, hehe!

Anyway, his thing when he stands alone is to make his body soooo tense with excitement! He makes his arms all stiff and locks his knees, and he has a particular way of holding his hands out which we are familiar with as an expression of the MOST excitement he has ever had!! It's so sweet :) He is just SO thrilled with himself when he is standing! He makes these excited roaring sounds and smiles and smiles with his eyes shining at us! We always cheer him and say, "Look at YOU standing, you strong boy!!" and things like that. He LOVES the attention over it :) We are so proud of him!

Today I FINALLY managed to capture him doing this on camera. He has been doing it for a few weeks but here he is standing and making excited sounds with his "excited hands"....

He doesn't wobble at all any more when he stands. He took a wobbly step once a couple of weeks ago, and then another single step twice since then. Yesterday he took two steps in a row while Neil and I were cheering him on for standing. Much fuss was made, of course! :) Then this morning I was sitting on the sofa feeling green and Arthur was cruising along the sofa, and suddenly he started doing his excited roaring, and I looked and he was standing with his hands all flexed like he does, so I got down to his level on the floor and cheered him, and held my hands out to him. He immediately took a step, followed by another, and then ANOTHER with that first foot!!! It wasn't wobbly at all, though he had reached me by step 3 so he sort of fell into my arms on that step. Yay for Arthur though, I'm so proud!!!! :)

Then Neil got home from work tonight and Arthur was soooooo cute. He has spent a LOT of time with his daddy this last week or two, as Neil had a whole week off work to spend time with Arthur, and then last week he was off 3 days with a bad cold. So Arthur has seen him around a lot, and has LOVED hanging out with him. When Neil got home he was so excited, and I have never seen him do this before, but he was showing Neil his toys and telling him all about them! He sat down at his little wooden workbench and started making his babbly talk which now sounds like real language, just not in words we understand! He would look at it, poke a few things on it (all the while "talking" earnestly) and keep on looking at Neil as though he was asking him to see what he was doing. Then when Neil sat with him playing with the workbench and talking to him, he quickly moved onto the bricks, and took a few out of the bucket to show Neil, babbling about them with really communicative expressions as he handed them to his daddy. It was so cute!

Then he wanted to stand and roar and be cheered, so he did that, and I told Neil about his three steps. Neil held out his hands to Arthur and said, "Come to Daddy!" and Arthur walked four steps right to Neil without any hesitation!! I thought he would never attempt it because Neil was far enough away from Arthur that usually he would just get down and crawl the distance to cross it. Anyway it was so exciting!!! Arthur was so pleased, and Neil swung him up in the air and we clapped and cheered until Arthur started clapping and cheering too!!

I LOVE my little boy!! He is too precious.

Anyway I reeeally wanted to write about that!

There are only two weeks until Arthur's first birthday!! I can't believe it! I keep wondering what I was doing this time last year. How amazing that I was pregnant this time last year, and I'm pregnant now as well and it feels like I've been pregnant for ages even though it's only a few weeks! That's a lot of pregnantness in a year or so! ;) This time last year I was 38 weeks pregnant and we were doing a trial run with my birth pool. I was crampy and huge and wondering what on earth it would be like to be a mummy. I can't even imagine NOT being a mummy now. I can't remember what life was like. It has been the most amazing change of my life EVER. I can't believe how wonderful it has been!

We are having a family party for Arthur on November 12th. Did I say that already? I haven't figured out who, what, where, why, and when yet though. Although, here - obviously - and probably somewhere between 3 and 5.30pm. Arthur LOVES company so he will have a great time! I am going to bake him a birthday cake but I haven't thought too much about the details yet. Something simple though, nothing gooey or thickly coated with toxic coloured sugar, and probably no super special design. Just simple. Arthur ate cake this weekend when a friend from school came to visit and brought some light fruit cake with her. He was so cross that I wasn't sharing it with him (!) so I gave him a bit, and he LOVED it! He ate the raisins and everything. So I think he will like birthday cake!

I just love him so much. I am trying to think of the million other things I'm sure I needed to say about him since last entry, but all I can think about is how much I love him love him love him. I just can't think of anything else. He is so affectionate. He gives hugs and kisses very readily, even to strangers if he has spent an hour with them and decides he likes them, and they are giving him a cuddle or something. Often he chooses to give cuddles or kisses at really touching moments, like when Neil has been blowing raspberries on his tummy till he can hardly breathe for laughing - he will catch his breath a bit, and then lean over and give his daddy a gentle kiss on the mouth. I love that when he has enjoyed being close or having fun with his daddy he will respond with a cuddle or a kiss, almost to say "Thank you Daddy, I love you!"

Or when I am nursing him. Nursing him at night - although tiring! - is magical. He is either snuggly and sleepy and newborn-ish, which is cuter than cute and makes me feel utterly tender inside, or he is more interactive. I love when I can just make out the shape of his cheek as he nurses, and a curl of hair at the side of his head in the shadows. He randomly pops off the breast just to gaze up at me. I can just make out his teeth and eyes shining so I know he is smiling at me. He makes the softest sound, like a whispered "aaahhh" sound, and his hand reaches up and strokes my face. Sometimes he gives me a kiss then too, before suddenly going back on the breast with enthusiasm! I love my gentle affectionate boy. He is so precious! It is so wonderful to begin to really see him showing us that he loves us. There is just no feeling like it!

I need to remember to show God how much I love him, more often. Being a parent sometimes reminds me, like with sentences like the last one. Since God is my Father and I am his child, I am beginning to see how incredible the love is between parent and child, and how he really must love to have me come to him and tell him I love him. How awesome is that, that God - God himself! - loves me - ME! - that much?! So amazing.

Okay. It's soooo late. I know there was a ton more, but I need bed and I am feeling sicker than when I started. Bed will help that a LOT so I'm going now! I hope I will be able to update again soon. I really need to write my thoughts and feelings down as my little boy approaches his first birthday, if only to keep me sane, hehe! I can't believe my baby is going to be one. Wow.

Recent entries.....

Moving time... - 2009-01-04
Christmas Eve! - 2008-12-24
Long-overdue update, a few Nathey pics and a video clip :) - 2008-12-01
Lots of news! - 2008-11-03
Nathan at 8 months... - 2008-10-12